Alumni & Friends Societies

Business Society

The Saint Ignatius Business Society is a diverse community connected through a shared belief in the power of the Ignatius experience.  Through innovative and inclusive programming it connects business leaders, professionals and students with the opportunity to network, stay involved with Saint Ignatius College Prep and collaborate with each other for the greater glory of God. Our business is to be men and women for and with others.

List of 1 items.

  • Current Business Society Members

    as of 5.24.23
    * indicates lifetime members
    + indicates sustaining members
    Read More

Upcoming Events

List of 1 events.

Membership Levels

List of 1 items.

  • Free

    For all college students, MBA students, non-profit workers, and people holding public office.  
    Join Now

List of 1 items.

  • $150

    For all young professionals (under 30 years old) in any area of business. You are starting your career and we would like to connect you and help you land that dream job.

List of 1 items.

  • $250

    Our Annual Membership is for all entrepreneurs, small business owners, professionals, and executives. We welcome alumni, parents (past and present), and friends of Saint Ignatius.

Network at our Annual Events

Support Students and Recent Grads

Business Society Award Recipients

List of 1 items.

  • Award Recipients - Business Luncheon

    Alumni Award for Excellence in the Field of Business
    2011 - Joseph B. Starshak ’63 
    2012 - the late Anthony J. Fornelli ‘51
    2013 - James. J. O’Connor 54
    2014 - Willard S. Evans, Jr. '73
    2015 - Marilynn Kelly Gardner ‘84
    2016 - The Moran Family: Richard ‘61, Maggie ‘87, Mike ’90, Karen ’91 & Amy ‘94
    2017 - Rashod Johnson ’93
    2018 - William Flood ’57
    2019 - David J. Kavanaugh '57
    2021 - Elizabeth Nash '95
    2022 - Danielle Hrzic '91

    Alumni Award for Innovation in the Field of Business
    2019 -
    Fred J. Conforti '59

    Award for Excellence in the Field of Business- Chicagoland
    2012 - Dana Thorne
    2013 - Robert M. Burke
    2014 - Thomas R. Donovan
    2015 - Phil Stefani & Mrs. Karen Stefani
    2016 - Anthony Leopold
    2017 - Rich Parlier
    2018 - Al Capitanini
    2019 - Calvin Jordan
    2021 - Elzie Higginbottom
    2022 - Elizabeth Connelly

    The Presidential Award for Distinguished Neighborhood Business Partner
    2012 - Fontano’s Subs
    2013 - Gentile’s Wine Shop
    2014 - Mario's Italian Lemonade
    2015 - The UPS Store Taylor Street
    2016 - Chez Joel Bistro Francais
    2017 - Scafuri Bakery
    2018 - Tufano’s Vernon Park Tap
    2019 - Bruna's Ristorante
    2021 - Little Joe's

List of 1 items.

  • Alumni Award for Excellence in Business at Class Reunion

    2008Mr. Edward C. Forst '78
    2008Mr. Peter B. Kain '63
    2009Mr. Marshall J. Collins, Jr. '59
    2009Mr. Hugh J. Flannery '79
    2010Mr. Joseph M. Collins '60
    2011Ms. Sheila Manning Hansen '81
    2011Mr. Robert K. Herdman '66
    2012Dr. Michael D. Doyle '77
    2013Mr. Timothy Swindle '98
    2013Mr. Gerald E. Noonan '63
    2013Mr. Richard G. Starmann '63
    2013Mr. Luis P. Nieto, Jr. '73
    2013Mr. Daniel A. Silvestri '68
    2014Mr. Peter T. Boodell '89
    2014Mr. Patrick Nash, Jr. '89
    2014Mrs. Katie O'Reilly '89
    2014Mr. John A. Ward '89
    2014The late Mr. John E. Wall  '44
    2014Mr. John C. Erb '64
    2014Mr. John F. McKinney '64
    2014Mr. Joseph M. Shrader '64
    2014Mr. Matthew M. Walsh, Jr. '64
    2014The late Mr. Reynold Petravich '64
    2017Mr. Hugh Mallaney '02

Business Society

Past Event Recaps

11th Annual Business Society Luncheon

Business Society leadership, members and friends gathered at the Union League Club on Thursday, November 10, to honor Danielle Hrzic ’91 with the Alumni Award for Excellence in the Field of Business and Elizabeth Connelly with the Award for Excellence in the Field of Business. Guests enjoyed being with friends, networking and hearing truly inspirational speeches. Students from the Ignatian Innovation Design Entrepreneurship class previewed their product ideas in preparation for their Wolves Den event on Monday, April 24. Please save the date to join us see their formal presentations.
Special thanks to our Business Society Leadership. President, Joe Sheils '85 and Vice President, Jay Harris '91. Committee Members: Tom Egan '79, Terri Evans '94, John George '98, Karen Jones, Christy McCarthy Kyhl '87, Michael Nelligan, Matt Poehls '03 and Jim Steuer. Also to our students: Saint Ignatius College Prep National Honor Society Members and the Ignatian Innovation Design Entrepreneurship class.
Click Here to read the 2022 awardee biographies.
Click Here to view the event photo gallery.

Business Society Happy Hour 5.17.22

The Business Society Happy Hour at the Fornelli ’51 Alumni Lounge featured Saint Ignatius Athletic Director, Mike Hurley ’07, who proudly spoke about the many accomplishments of our student athletes and the Athletic Department over the last two years. The football win over Mt. Carmel, IHSA State Golf Champions, multiple IHSA Sectional Champion Girls Varsity Swimming & Diving, IHSA 3rd Place State Finalist Boys Varsity Basketball, and IHSA Sectional Champion Girls Varsity Lacrosse to name a few. Our Athletic Department worked hard through the pandemic so that our students could continue to be athletes. President John Chandler talked about the importance of our Athletic Department for the formation of our students in partnership with their academic achievements. Thank you to the Business Society members for arranging this event and to Vice President, Jay Harris ’91, for welcoming everyone and updating everyone on the Business Society.

Click Here to read more about all of our athletic accomplishments. Click Here to see pictures from the event.

Thank You to Our

Business Society Sponsors

Entrepreneurship Program Sponsor

Rashod Johnson '93
Cherryl Thomas



Ann Marie Achille '92
Phone       312.421.5900
Fax 312.432.8389